YAL Points totals and report after Rd 2

Sat 11 February 2012--admin

Congratulations to every member of the Junior Squad who have ensured that the club has made it through to another N. Ireland YAL final after winning the Rd 2 qualifying match at a boiling hot Bangor on Saturday 26 May. Official results and points totals after both rounds are now available and the top six clubs making it through to the 07 July final are as follows:-

City of Lisburn 2152 points
City of Derry 1728
Olympian 1048
Regent House 1038

Lagan Valley 963
Omagh 855

The Round 2 highlights are as follows with many excellent performances being recorded between the sun-bathing and water-fights!…

U13 girls

Grace Hillman has another year at this level but was superb as she won the sprint double. Anna McCauley had a great day, with an exceptional 4.01m long jump into the wind, a 1.25 HJ plus a win in the 75m B sprint. Kate Gourley stood out on the track, winning the 1200m in 4:25 with Tyla Eley 2nd in the B race. Tyla later had a great throw of 15.10m to win the javelin and was also second in the shot.

Katie O’Reilly produced her best ever high jump, winning with 1.33m. Olivia Savage won her shot by half a metre with 6.61m and was 2nd at javelin. Kayla Hall was 3rd in the A long jump with 3.55m. The 4x100m squad of Olivia, Kayla, Anna and Grace finished a great day for this team with a victory in 58.60s.

U13 Boys

Louis McGuckian’s good season continued with a fine double in the A sprints, notable for an excellent 28.20m in the 200m into a strong wind on the home straight. He was well backed up by Josh Armstrong who won the B 100m and Simon McMaster who won the B 200. The 1500m saw both Sean Terek and Ben Ritchie run well for 4th place in the A and B races respectively.

There were good points in the throws as Ben Ritchie took 2nd in the A shot and also in the B discus while Tom Jordan was 2nd in the B shot and A discus. In the long jump Simon McMaster was 2nd in the A with 3.90m while Josh Armstrong won his B event with 3.97m – good jumping from both athletes into a strong wind. Finally, the boys won their relay convincingly with good runs from all four team members – Bradley Mulholland, Josh, Simon and Louis in a time of 57.72m

U15 girls

Once again Megan Marrs was probably the outstanding athlete of the meet overall with an incredible 12.78s 100m PB into a headwind which was reducing most athletes’ times by at least half a second. She later won the high jump with an amazing 1.64m which she will hope to have ratified by the YAL committee as another league record. Mollie Newell had an excellent race to win the B 100m race in 13.71s.

The 200m races saw a good A-string win for Phoebe Tan who held her form superbly in the home straight to clinch victory in a 28.32m PB, while Therese was 3rd in the B in 29.02s. At 1500m Zoe Carruthers and Madison Bowyers both raced well to secure full points for Lisburn.

In the field Cara Burke had a super PB of 1.53m in the B high jump. Sarah Woods improved in each round of the javelin to win with a PB with the 600g spear of 23.49m, with Lauren Rea producing an 18.07m PB effort for 2nd in the B. At discus Jodie Savage threw well for 2nd in the A with 17.41m while Natalja Ritchie took full points in the B string.
The relay team of Mollie, Phoebe, Therese and Megan won convincingly in 52.24s, a time which would have won the boys’ race in the same age-group!

U15 Boys

The sprints here saw a 4th for Ben Fisher in the 100m and 2nd for Cameron in the B race. At 200 Ryan Hall had a fantastic run in the A race, winning in 25.02s with Ciaran Barnes placing second in the B string. As at Antrim in Round 1 Ciaran won the 300m although the wind kept his time here to 42.57s with Ryan Keenan returning from injury to take a great win in the 300m B race. In the 1500 Tom Baird had a comfortable win in 4:45.

At high jump Cameron Kelly jumped a massive 1.63m PB with Matthew Dalton making it full points for Lisburn with his 1.55m effort. The same pair took maximum points at shot, Matthew throwing 11.03m to Cameron’s 8.68m. Matthew was 1st in the javelin with 37.15m while Josh Jordan won the B with 26.21m. At long jump Ben Fisher was 2nd with 5.08m while Ryan Hall won the B with 4.99m.

The 4x100m relay team of Cameron, Thomas Quinn, Ryan Keenan and Ben finished 2nd in the race but were announced winners after N Down were disqualified. The 4×300 squad of Ciaran, Matthew, Ryan and Tom were comfortable winners of their race in 2:51.92.

U17 Girls

Sprint queen Roseanna McGuckian had a straightforward win in the A 100 in 13.47s with debutant Chloe Howes taking full points in the B race in 13.73s. At 200m Jane Anderson placed 3rd in 27.62s with Jessica Robinson running well in the B to place 2nd in 28.22s, pushing the winning City of Derry athlete all the way. Erin Quinn won the A 300m in 44.28s while Aoibhin McManus’s time of 45.01s while winning the B was the 2nd fastest overall. Charlotte McConville had a good first run in the Lisburn vest, placing 3rd in the A race in 5:35.

Caitlin Rose won the A shot in a 4k PB of 6.99m while Roseanna helped out at the B shot and won in a very respectable 7.25m! Caitlin had another PB at the discus where her 17.35m throw placed her 2nd in the A, with the unfortunate Kathryn Case throwing 3 fouls in the B. Anna McIlmoyle was 2nd in the A high jump in 1.55m while Caitlin recorded PB no. 3 with a breakthrough 1.50m clearance to win the B.

The 4x100m squad of Chloe Howes, Jessica Robinson, Jenny Skelly and Anna McIlmoyle passed the baton slickly and flew round the track in 52.31s to win by 25 metres. However the race of the day was the final event on the programme, the 4x300m. Well done to Roseanna, Erin, Jane and Aoibhin who all ran superbly despite a couple of them already having one 300m in their legs from earlier in the day. At one stage the Lisburn lead looked big enough to secure the win but an exceptional City of Derry squad chased hard, catching us only on the line for a victory by 0.03s in 2:56.51.

U17 Boys

Times were irrelevant with the strong headwind but Aaron Dalzell and Stuart McEwan took full points in the 100m. At 200m Andrew Hutchinson was 5th in the A race while Cameron Powell won his B race with a superb run. Over 400m Dominic Martin ran an excellent 56.73s for 2nd while Callum McLaughlin won his B race in 58.57s. Thomas O’Callaghan was 5th in the A 1500 in 5:09 while Jonny Whan was in great form in the 3000m, winning by almost the length of the straight with 10:14.

At long jump there were full points from Jonathan Hill with 5.44m plus Cameron Powell’s 5.02m PB. Michael Logan won the A discus with 30.01m while Jonathan Hill won the B with 21.65m. Ronan Jenkinson was 2nd in a good quality javelin competition in 41.93m while Cameron picked up good points for 3rd in the B. The 4×100 squad of James Docherty, Aaron Dalzell, Cameron Powell and Stuart McEwan got the baton round safely to win by 2 secs with a swift 45.76s.

Well done to the full squad who can now look forward with anticipation to the final.